Inglewood Craftsman Home

Restoring our 1906 home in Inglewood CA on a budget

Letterpress Drawer Jewelry Display

Leave a comment

IMG_2036With a background (and undergraduate degree) in printmaking, I have a soft spot for all things print-related. When I saw this letterpress drawer in an antique shop in Texas for incredibly cheap, I had to purchase it. Shipping it home took me on quite an adventure (it didn’t exactly fit into a carryon bag), but it arrived!

At first, I didn’t want to mar its beautiful surface with anything, but also didn’t know what to do with it. A little Pinteresting, of course, led me to the perfect idea- a jewelry display. This scary mess is what my jewelry looked like before. Obviously a jewelry display would help.IMG_2027

I followed the examples of a few tutorials and used 99Cent store hair rollers for holding rings and earrings, then covered those surfaces in some burlap ribbon to make them look more appropriate for the decor.

Some brass cup hooks on the sides, bottom, and select squares hold dangly earrings and necklaces. A nice transition from this pile of random organizers and stuff all over my dresser to this! I think I’ll add even more hooks, since it turns out I have more dangly things than push-in things like rings and earring studs.

I did buy another letterpress drawer and will likely use it for yet another closet organization project.

Oh- and the font is labeled on the drawer, contact bold condensed (the font looks like this).

 

 

IMG_2031

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_2037

Leave a Reply

